• MG-46,Sector-C,Aliganj,Lucknow-226024,Uttar Pradesh,India
  • 0522-2324410, 9415011894

About Us


The General Body consists of all life members and the Executive Committee consisting of 35 members, 18 from Lucknow and 17 from elsewhere.

Executive Committee - 2018
President Sri G. Pattnaik (Lucknow)
Vice-President Prof. T.N. Pandey (Santa Cruz, USA)
Prof. P.K. Misra (Mysore)
Prof. Vinay K. Srivastava (Kolkata)
Prof. B.R.K. Shukla (Lucknow)
Prof. A.P. Singh (Lucknow)
General Secretary Prof. Sukant K. Chaudhury (Lucknow)
Treasurer Prof. J.N. Shukla (Lucknow)
Joint Secretary Dr. Arun Kumar Singh (Lucknow)
Asstt. Secretary Dr. Diwakar Upadhyay (Lucknow)
Dr. Alok Chantia (Lucknow)
Dr. Santosh Upadhyay (Lucknow)
Dr. Suneel Deepak (Lucknow)
Members Prof. Nilika Mehrotra (Delhi)
Prof. A. K. Pandey (Varanasi)
Prof. P.S. Vivek (Mumbai)
Prof. Gayatri Bhattacharya (Kolkata)
Prof. Nita Mathur (Delhi)
Dr. Rahul Patel (Allahabad)
Dr. Manoj K. Singh (Delhi)
Dr. A. S. Tiwari (Lucknow)
Dr. Keya Pandey (Lucknow)
Dr. Sudha Rastogi (Lucknow)
Prof. Sanjay Singh (Lucknow)
Dr. Shobhana Nagar (Lucknow)
Prof. D. R. Sahu (Lucknow)
Dr. Neetu Singh ( Lucknow)
Immediate Past President Prof. T.N. Madan (Delhi)
Immediate Past General Secretary Prof. Nadeem Hasnain (Lucknow)
Editor, The Eastern Anthropologist Prof. P. Venkat Rao (Hyderabad)
Editor, Indian Journal of Physical
Anthropology and Human Genetics
Prof. U. P. Singh (Lucknow)
Editor, Manav Prof. Nadeem Hasnain (Lucknow)
Director, DN Majumdar Museum Dr. Anjali Chauhan(Lucknow)
Director, Publications Prof. S.M. Patnaik(Delhi)
Honorary Librarian Dr. Vibha Agnihotri(Lucknow)

Our Honorary Fellows (Past & Present)

Professors C.von Furer-Haimendorf, David Mandelbaum, and H.D.Sankalia, Dr. A.Aiyappan, Dr A.V.Rao, Professors Sol Tax, Fred Eggan, E.C.Buchi, E.Vogel, Cyril Belshaw, Levi-Strauss, A.K. Saran, Ram Krishna Mukerji, George Condominas, Chie Nakane and Leela Dube.

Some Distinguished Life Members (Past and Present)

Louis Dumont, Cora DuBois, McKim Mariott, A.R.Beal, Harold Gould, G.D. Berreman, S.C.Dube, L.P. Vidyarthi, K.S. Mathur, B.K. Roy Burman, T.N. Madan, V.N. Mishra, D.P. Sinha, Gopal Saran and Ghaus Ansari


Promotion of scientific and action oriented research in the field of Anthropology and related disciplines. Study of the deprived sections of Indian society particularly Scheduled Castes,Scheduled Tribes and Women. Study of social change and developmental issues. Collaboration with other scientific bodies working in similar fields of research.

Other Activities

Regular publication of three journals (The Eastern Anthropologist; Indian Journal of Physical Anthropology & Human Genetics; and Manav) Publication of books authored by distinguished social scientists. Organizing seminars and conferences. Holding lectures including D.N.Majumdar and K.S. Mathur Memorial lectures. Conducting research studies.

Life Membership Fee

For Indian Scholars : Rs. 4000/-
For Foreign Scholars : US$300
(Life members will get one copy of the journal free of cost throughout life)
Click here to fill Membership Form
Click here to download Membership Form
(take a print out, fill up the form, send it along with the required fee in society’s address by registered post).